ONE TUTORIAL A DAY FOR 31 DAYS – DAY 3 OF MY JOURNEY –FAUX CINNABAR ART BEADS

China in My Heart

It’s day 3. I still play safe by showing you the process used to make the faux cinnabar art beads for the China in My Heart Necklace (made for the IBA Perlen Poesie 2015 Contest).  I’m beginning to get scared by the idea that I won’t be able to come up with another 28 interesting ideas for the following days. But the for moment, I’m still here.

Faux Cinnabar Art Beads

I have tried to make faux cinnabar beads both with red polymer clay and white polymer clay and then to paint them with Piñata red alcohol ink. In the end I liked the way it turned out when I used white polymer clay and red Piñata alcohol ink. In the beginning I considered adding a coat of black acrylic paint and then wiping it out, but there was no longer necessary. I liked the beads as they were.

IMG_0888

Materials and tools used: white Fimo Professional Polymer Clay, pasta machine, blade, cutter, clay carving tool, red Piñata alcohol ink, a Chinese longevity symbol printed image, a brush, a Lisa Pavelka texture plate. I have prepared the polymer clay, and then rolled it through the pasta machine through a thicker setting. I cut the shape I wanted using the blade. I have turned it on the back and used the Lisa Pavelka texture plate to make a nice design on the back (I have pressed very well).  I put the Chinese longevity symbol printed image on top of the polymer clay sheet and then, using a ball pen tool, I imprinted the design into polymer clay. I used a carving tool; I carved the design a little more. I have made some texture around the design using a brush. I have modeled the margins to make them biscuit-like. I have baked it according to the manufacturer’s instructions. Once cooled, I have painted it several times with red Piñata alcohol ink.

IMG_0890IMG_0892IMG_0894IMG_0895IMG_0898
IMG_0901IMG_0906IMG_0912IMG_0915IMG_0917
FullSizeRender (3)

And that was it! Thank you for accompanying me in my journey!

DSC_0175

2 comments

  1. Σοφια Κ · · Reply

    What a wonderful talent you show, i am hooked to try myself
    However am not certain on temperature for oven. Does thickness of clay
    Require different degrees and time of baking in order for clay. designs to
    be strongly attached? Your help will be so much appreciated.

    Thanks so much for your tutoring, you are blessed
    Sophia K.

    1. Dear Sophia, thank you for your message! I am sorry for replying so late. I was so caught up with the holidays and my son being on vacation that I kept a low profile. I am very grateful for the beautiful things that you wrote to me! Yes, the temperature is very important, if not the jewelry piece might not be strong enough. You should check the temperature written on the package and I recommend using an oven thermometer (you can buy any oven thermometer). The thickness of the layer does influence the baking time, for thicker layers, you need to put your piece in the oven for longer. When I used Fimo, I used to bake some of my pieces for 45 minutes (at the temperature recommended on the package), but now I am using Cernit and it is written on the package that the maximum time for baking is of 30 minutes. I would say that for other brands than Cernit, it’s better to use longer baking times. I recommend you to read this interesting article by the thebluebottletree.com that has also answers to your questions: https://thebluebottletree.com/bake-polymer-clay-temperature/
      I encourage you to try polymer clay. It is a wonderful medium: you can model it, sculpt it, texture it, paint on it (using acrylics, soft pastels, mica powders, alcohol inks, even oil paints in some cases), stamp it, use silkscreens on it, transfer images, add inclusions and so much more. Please feel free to ask me any questions related to polymer clay and I will do my best to reply to them sooner than this time:) Have a wonderful and creative year in 2017 and I wish you to have wonderful experiences and results with polymer clay! My best to you! Mihaela

Leave a Reply

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Urban Poetry

a digital art and poetry wordpress blog. original poems copyright by linda j. wolff

Books, Music, Photography, & Movies

My views on the above and some...

Beads, Charms, Wire...

... and all things ornamental

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Musings by an ND Domer's Mom

Life's too short not to be Irish!

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

The Rhythm Of Heels

Everyday fashion & beauty inspiration

Colors of my life

Some random thoughts I observe or have!

Books through my veins

I am just a girl who finds joy and happiness in books

a brash attitude

Be brash. Be bold. Be confident.

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

CLOTHES TO YOUUU

LA-Based Personal Style Blog & Visual Diary by Elizabeth T.

Vicky's Scrapbook

A DIY and Personal Style Blog

Estonian Cuisine. Eesti Toit.

Estonian Food and Cuisine. Easy and Delicious .

Oglindă către prezent

M-am mutat pe adrianasandru.ro! :)

Contemporary jewellery in China

/////// What's new ?///////

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Jessica Bakkers

Creative & Freelance Writer

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

Health & Beauty

Inspiring Healthy Living

social underground

The Human Condition.

Polina Enver

Познавательный блог

Campus Lady

A Sleeper Awakens

