ONE TUTORIAL A DAY FOR 31 DAYS – DAY 18 OF MY JOURNEY – INSPIRED BY FRIDA

INSPIRED BY FRIDA (2)

I’m back. I’m sorry for my silence. I had a block. I did not see it coming, but it happened. All of the sudden I could not create anything. The more I tried, the worse was the result. So I had to stop for a moment and think again: I had to remind myself that this is what I really want to do. My lesson was that creativity goes hand in hand with relaxation, with enjoying life, not with establishing deadlines, stress and beginning the day with I have to. It was a hard lesson, but a good one.

I got my inspiration back when I realized it’s almost the end of the month and I have not made any piece of jewelry for the ArtBeadScene blog. And this is something that is important for me. I can’t wait the beginning of each month to see the inspiration painting. At least I have an idea to work on, which makes things easier.

This month’s inspiration for the ArtBeadScene monthly challenge was:

Self-Portrait with Thorn Necklace and Hummingbird, 1940

By Frida Kahlo

Oil on Canvas

It took me so long to make this necklace because I was taken aback by the sadness of the painting. I react better to happier, colorful inspirations. But I admire Frida a lot, as a painter and also as a woman, brave and strong. I wish I could be like that.

Materials and tools used: white Fimo Professional Polymer clay, brown Fimo polymer clay, pastel colors, leaf cutters,  a flexible blade, the pasta machine, memory wire, wire and varnish.

I have conditioned the clay.

I have started with the easiest part: cutting leaves with the cutters.

IMG_1456

I have printed the image and cut out Frida’s image. I have put it on polymer clay and imprinted the design into polymer clay (using a pen and pressing on the design lines).

IMG_1457

IMG_1458

I have started carving a little bit, using the imprint image.

IMG_1459

IMG_1460

IMG_1461

I have cut out around the drawing using the flexible blade.

IMG_1462

I have made a pattern on the sides of the pendant (a biscuit-like pattern).

IMG_1463

I have made a pattern on the back of the pendant using a brush.

I have used the printed image to imprint the shape of the hummingbird.

IMG_1467

I have cut it out and carved it a little (to add more texture).

IMG_1469

I started coating the memory wire with brown polymer clay.

IMG_1471

IMG_1473

I have used a piece of real wood to make the wooden texture on polymer clay.

IMG_1477

I have made elongated beads, put them on a wooden stick and I have created the same wooden texture on them using the real wood piece.

IMG_1478

And now the fun part!


IMG_1479

I have colored the leaves with yellow, light green and dark green pastels.

IMG_1480

I have colored the branches with light brown and dark brown.

I have also colored the pendant with brown and black pastels (wiping out part of the color afterwards).

Then I have put everything in the oven (according to the polymer clay manufacturer’s specifications).

IMG_1492

I have painted the wooden branches with black acrylic paint and then I wiped out the paint with baby wipes.

IMG_1491

I did the same with the pendant: I have painted it with acrylics and then removed the paint with baby wipes.

INSPIRED BY FRIDA (4)

Thank you for understanding me!

17 comments

    1. Thank you very much, Cindy!

  1. Your piece is fabulous. I love the handmade focal. I too wish I could be strong and brave. I enjoyed seeing the process of making the piece.

    1. Thank you very much, Alice! I loved the Amazon Queen earrings from your blog post!

  2. formidabil!!! bravo, felicitari si tot înainte! 🙂

    1. Multumesc mult! Trebuie sa recunosc ca e mai greu decat as fi crezut!

  3. Very beautiful! Nice work!

    1. Thank you very much, Lucy!

  4. This is such an awesome idea! Frida is such an inspirational subject. You’ve given me inspiration to use Frida in my upcoming projects! and well done for getting back on the blogging horse, creative blogs can be so rubbish.

    1. The idea of using Frida as an inspiration was not mine, but I totally loved it. I take part in a monthly challenge for jewelry submissions organized by ArtBeadScene and I can tell you that all the contributors have made wonderful pieces of jewelry (so we all resonated well with Frida and her painting). I liked your blog very much (the embroidered pieces and the polymer clay marble dish are wonderful). Thank you for encouraging me to go on with my journey!

  5. Very beautiful piece you created here. We need to remember not to stress to be creative. It is so easy to lose the inspiration in this way.

    1. Thank you so much, Irene! I have learned this lesson. Since then, I wait for an idea to come to me and try not to force things too much (I know now that I will not be happy with the result if I try too much, it has to come as an inspiration and then I go with the flow – at least for me it works like that).

      1. It works for me in same way. I need to feel the inspiration to create jewelry and some days I don’t create at all. So I understand you 🙂

  6. You have a talent for stucco

    1. Thank you very much!

  7. Beaucoup de talent et beaucoup de patience sans doute ! Félicitations !
    Merci pour ce beau partage… Merci également pour ta visite…
    Bisous d’Auvergne.

    1. Merci, Louis! Et merci pour la visite aussi! Je te souhaite une journée magnifique! Bisous de Thionville (près de Metz)

Leave a Reply

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Urban Poetry

a digital art and poetry wordpress blog. original poems copyright by linda j. wolff

Books, Music, Photography, & Movies

My views on the above and some...

Beads, Charms, Wire...

... and all things ornamental

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Musings by an ND Domer's Mom

Life's too short not to be Irish!

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

The Rhythm Of Heels

Everyday fashion & beauty inspiration

Colors of my life

Some random thoughts I observe or have!

Books through my veins

I am just a girl who finds joy and happiness in books

a brash attitude

Be brash. Be bold. Be confident.

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

CLOTHES TO YOUUU

LA-Based Personal Style Blog & Visual Diary by Elizabeth T.

Vicky's Scrapbook

A DIY and Personal Style Blog

Estonian Cuisine. Eesti Toit.

Estonian Food and Cuisine. Easy and Delicious .

Oglindă către prezent

M-am mutat pe adrianasandru.ro! :)

Contemporary jewellery in China

/////// What's new ?///////

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Jessica Bakkers

Creative & Freelance Writer

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

Health & Beauty

Inspiring Healthy Living

social underground

The Human Condition.

Polina Enver

Познавательный блог

Campus Lady

A Sleeper Awakens

