ONE TUTORIAL A DAY FOR 31 DAYS – DAY 24 OF MY JOURNEY – INSPIRED BY STAINED GLASS

Inspired by Stained Glass

Like any journey, my journey has ups and downs. There are days when I feel very creative, the ideas just flow and days when, as hard as I might try, the result is not satisfying. I have learned that you cannot control creativity. Trying to control it makes things more difficult (at least for me). So all I have to do is to wait for the next moment when I am inspired to create and I feel from the beginning that from all the ideas I might have, one particular idea is the one I was looking for.

Materials and tools used for this project: white Fimo Professional Polymer Clay, a toothpick, a carving tool, a screw, Pinata alcohol inks, triple thick glossy varnish, Marabu Relief Paste for glass, an aluminium can.

I have conditioned the clay, made a large ball, flattened it a little and put it through the pasta machine through the thickest setting.

I have put the polymer clay sheet on an aluminum can. I have overlapped one part over the other part.

IMG_1762

The cuff  is wider in front and narrower in the back.

IMG_1763

IMG_1764

I textured the margins. First using a carving tool (to press the polymer clay inside) and then with a toothpick.

IMG_1765

I imprinted flower patterns.

IMG_1768

IMG_1767

I modeled the edges to be more wavy.

IMG_1768

IMG_1769

Using a screw, I textured a little bit the area around the flowers.

I pressed the cuff and the aluminium can to have a more irregular shape.

IMG_1770

I started adding nail art silver leaf (I did not cover the entire cuff, just parts of it).

Then I put it in the oven according to the polymer clay manufacturer specifications.

IMG_1771

IMG_1772

Using the Marabu relief paste for glass, I made a 3D contour of the flowers. I let it dry for an hour.

IMG_1773

IMG_1775

I started coloring the flowers with yellow Pinata alcohol ink (diluted with rubbing alcohol).

IMG_1776

I added some red Pinata alcohol ink on the yellow alcohol ink for an orange look.

IMG_1777

I colored the area around the flowers with Olive Green Pinata Alcohol ink (two subsequent applications).

IMG_1778

I colored the interior of the cuff with Olive Green Pinata Alcohol ink.

IMG_1779

I added some more yellow Pinata Alcohol ink over the two layers of Olive Green Pinata Alcohol ink.

IMG_1782

I varnished it with Triple Thick Glossy Varnish.

Now that my journey is approaching the end (no more than 7 more tutorials), it looks that it is getting more difficult. I have less interesting ideas than I had when I started out (maybe because I am a little bit tired), but I am still motivated to keep going and post my 31st tutorial as soon as possible.

Thank you for being there for me!

Inspired by

29 comments

  1. So lovely. The colors remind me of butterfly wings, too.

    1. Thank you so much! I found your article about watercolor batiking very interesting. I knew about Batik because I learned a little bit about silk painting but never though you could apply this technique to watercolors.

      1. Glad it sparked an interest – yes, batik on paper. : ) Enjoy!

      2. I should think of how I could apply the Batik technique with polymer clay. I have never thought of it, but now I am wondering….

      3. Actually, batiking on watercolor is more like this: (I stand corrected and will update my blog) – http://www.totalartsoul.com/index.php?option=com_content&task=view&id=2517&Itemid=

      4. I preferred your painting: I preferred the colors, the seashells and it makes me think that your theme could be used in Batik silk screening.

  2. Love, Love, Love this 🙂

    1. Thank you very much, Kelly! Best wishes! Mihaela

  3. What a great idea! This is absolutely beautiful!! I love the idea of using the can, too!! Thanks for sharing this tutorial. Love, love, love it!

    1. I am so happy to receive such a good feedback for this cuff. Because I loved it too. I couldn’t wait to post this tutorial:)

  4. Beautiful – its uniqueness of design and form is what attracts me. Your creativity is off the charts ~ your mind must constantly be going.

    1. I am really grateful for these wonderful words. Mary, I must tell you that there are days when I have the impression that I will never ever have any creative idea again (that happens when I push myself too hard). But then I relax, I look at beautiful images (of jewelry, flowers, landscapes, I read something inspirational) and then the flow of ideas is coming back. I have learned a lesson though: if I don’t act on an idea (if I don’t make that piece of jewelry that moment or even that day), the clarity of the impression will never be the same again and I will never be able to make that piece of jewelry in the form in which I saw it in my mind. And in order to feed my creativity, I spend at least an hour daily looking at beautiful images (of jewelry, fashion, landscapes, etc.) and, out of nowhere, a picture of a door knob or a pattern on a dress makes me see that idea translated into jewelry.

      1. That is the telling of a true artist – your endeavors are unique and beautiful, from design to color and forms. Love them all and also learning your techniques.

      2. Thank you so much, Mary, for encouraging me! Best wishes! Mihaela

  5. It certainly does appear to be stained glass!

    1. Thank you so much, Elena. I am fascinated by stained glass (be it religious [ I prefer the traditional stained glass church windows than Marc Chagall ] or Tiffany style) and I wanted to render this idea of bright colors and light with this design. Speaking of light, I loved the way you rendered the idea of light in your painting Illuminated: https://elenacaravela.wordpress.com/2015/05/01/illuminated/ Thank you so much for appreciating my work! Have a wonderful day! Mihaela

  6. Magnifique !

    1. Merci du fond de mon coeur! Bonne journée! Mihaela

  7. Suzanne · · Reply

    Another fascinating process and I like your thoughts about trying to control creativity. It does come when it wants to, not when we want it. I think we have to put ourselves in the way of it though by keeping on working and being open. Your progress over this long project proves that

    1. Thank you so much, Suzanne! I really appreciate that you take the time and share your impressions with me! Have a wonderful day filled with creative ideas! Mihaela

    1. Merci beaucoup! Bonne journée! Mihaela

  8. Reblogged this on quirkywritingcorner and commented:
    Amazing and so beautiful!

    1. Thank you! Best wishes! Mihaela

  9. Thank you for visiting my blog and all the “likes”.

  10. Wow, that came out wonderfully. Before I started reading the words, I scrolled down a few pics and when I came to the can I thought the contents would be a ‘mental prop’ to get the creative juices flowing. Ha! Thank you for the follow too.

    1. Thank you for visiting my blog. I loved your paintings and your idea of having pictures with the place where they will be displayed (their new “home”). I also loved a lot your charity Hunger Bowl and the message written on it: https://jenibate.wordpress.com/2015/03/23/the-hunger-bowl/

      1. Thank you! I think the auction for the bowls is next month so I will likely be able to report how much the whole project raised.

      2. The bowl is very beautiful and your intention is wonderful! I hope you will raise a lot of money with this charity project! Best wishes! Mihaela

Leave a Reply

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Urban Poetry

a digital art and poetry wordpress blog. original poems copyright by linda j. wolff

Books, Music, Photography, & Movies

My views on the above and some...

Beads, Charms, Wire...

... and all things ornamental

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Musings by an ND Domer's Mom

Life's too short not to be Irish!

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

The Rhythm Of Heels

Everyday fashion & beauty inspiration

Colors of my life

Some random thoughts I observe or have!

Books through my veins

I am just a girl who finds joy and happiness in books

a brash attitude

Be brash. Be bold. Be confident.

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

CLOTHES TO YOUUU

LA-Based Personal Style Blog & Visual Diary by Elizabeth T.

Vicky's Scrapbook

A DIY and Personal Style Blog

Estonian Cuisine. Eesti Toit.

Estonian Food and Cuisine. Easy and Delicious .

Oglindă către prezent

M-am mutat pe adrianasandru.ro! :)

Contemporary jewellery in China

/////// What's new ?///////

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Jessica Bakkers

Creative & Freelance Writer

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

Health & Beauty

Inspiring Healthy Living

social underground

The Human Condition.

Polina Enver

Познавательный блог

Campus Lady

A Sleeper Awakens

