I’m not insane!

Alien Roses - Free polymer clay tutorial by Beads Academy / Mihaela Georgescu. More inspiration on: https://michellemaya2005.wordpress.com/

Hello dear friends!

I think the definition of Insanity given by Albert Einstein was: “doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results”. So for two months I’ve been thinking of how I can  change my input to get a different result. And I hope that this thinking and questioning period was a good thing and I also hope to have more fruitful results in the very near future.

I’m not saying more for not spoiling the surprise and because I am afraid to announce that I will do something and not be able to do it (like I did with the PCChallenge that I could not do finally).

But as I am an optimistic person, I chose to be grateful for what I managed to do and encourage myself to do more next time.

The inspiration for this piece was represented by the March theme of the ArtBeadSceneChallenge.

Afonina-Taisia-Still-life-with-Pussy-Willows-per02bw

“Still Life with Pussy Willows”
By Taisia K. Afonina

1964, Oil on canvas
80 cm × 60 cm (32 in × 24 in)

Now, let’s start the tutorial, shall we!

Materials and tools used: dark blue Fimo Professional Polymer Clay, Dolphin Gray Fimo Professional Polymer Clay, Blue Translucent Fimo Professional Polymer Clay, translucent white Fimo Professional Polymer Clay, silver metallic Fimo Professional Polymer Clay, metal leaf, liquid Fimo, stamp, a pasta machine, a soda can, a craft knife, a petal cutter, a skewer.

First of all I conditioned the clay (from the lightest color to the darkest color).

I prepared a long sheet of dolphin gray polymer clay and measured it against the diameter of the soda can.

IMG_5825

Then I cut neat edges using a ruler.

IMG_5826

After measuring it against the soda can’s diameter, I decided to cut the extremities using a round cutter.

IMG_5828

IMG_5830

Now I’ve got the cuff frame to work with.

IMG_5833

I added stripes of silver metallic polymer clay and metal leaf. (I hoped that the end result would show more of the metal leaf that it actually did).

I cut the sheet in 4 parts, stacked them up and covered the pile with a thin sheet of translucent blue polymer clay.

IMG_5834-001 (2)

IMG_5835

Then rolled it again through the pasta machine through the thinnest setting.

Next, using the petal cutter, I cut an oval form that  I wrapped around the skewer.

IMG_5840

 

IMG_5837

I’ve cut the excess. Now I’ve got the center of the “flower”.

IMG_5841 (2)

I’ve cut another oval shape and applied the tube on it, pressing slightly. I cut a blue petal and applied it on top of the tube.

IMG_5842 (2).JPG

I pressed gently to stick the petals to the tube.

IMG_5844 (2)

I wrapped the bead, the gray on the inside, the blue on the outside and I textured the margins a little bit between my fingers.

IMG_5846

 

IMG_5847

IMG_5848

IMG_5849 (2)

Then I applied the “flower” onto the cuff pressing gently on the skewer.

I pressed again on the margins of the tube to make sure it was well fixed in the cuff.

IMG_5851

I applied the “flowers” all around.

IMG_5852

IMG_5853

I pressed each side of the “flower” into the next “flower” to have them connected (and thus the “flowers” would stick to each other and to the cuff).

IMG_5854 (2)

I decorated the cuff all around.

Then I put it in the oven for 40 minutes at the temperature recommended by the polymer clay manufacturer.

After taking it from the oven and once cooled down, I doubled the inside of the cuff with a sheet of dolphin gray polymer clay stamped previously with a stamp. I used Liquid Polymer clay to make sure the two sheets of polymer clay will stick together.

IMG_5857 (2)

I trimmed up the excess of clay using a craft knife.

IMG_5859

Then I put it in the oven again for 30 minutes.

After cooling down, I polished it with 360 grit sanding paper (using water). I think I should have sanded it some more (when looking at the pictures, I noticed some spots that would need further sanding).

IMG_5861 (2)

IMG_5863

I wanted to add some miracle round beads all around and finally I did not like the result.

I still added 2 miracles beads at each margin (using gold wire).

Well, that’s it.

I hope you liked my tutorial. I am happy to be back with a clearer vision and lots of inspiration for you!

My best to you!

Mihaela

Alien Roses - Free polymer clay tutorial by Beads Academy / Mihaela Georgescu. More inspiration on: https://michellemaya2005.wordpress.com/

 

 

 

 

 

 

51 comments

  1. Beautiful piece. So much detail and great tutorial. Thanks for sharing.

    1. Thank you, Janell! I’m so happy that you liked my tutorial! My best to you! Mihaela

  2. BEAUTIFUL WORK THAT THE RESULT IS BEAUTIFUL .

    1. Thank you so much! I am grateful for your wonderful comment! Best wishes! Mihaela

      1. Thank you, wonderful job , greetings ..

    1. Thank you so much! Have a wonderful day! Mihaela

  3. Wow – really cool. I love how sculptural it is. Beautiful colors so like the painting as well.

    1. Thank you! I loved your red necklace! I also loved the shape of the red vintage beads! Great work! https://beadlove.wordpress.com/2016/03/27/kind-of-a-collaboration/ My best to you! Mihaela

  4. Your talent always amazes me! How gorgeous!

    1. Thank you, dear Lynz, you are wonderful! I love reading your blog posts! Sending you lots of love! Mihaela

      1. Thanks dear! I am happy to receive such a blessing!

      2. I am grateful for your appreciation, dear Lynz! My best to you! Mihaela

      3. Thanks dear Mihaela

    1. Thank you! Your dolls are so beautiful! I loved the young Gypsy! http://ateliermissgeorgia.com/2016/04/01/the-young-gypsy/ I am fascinated by art dolls and yours are very beautiful! Best wishes! Mihaela

  5. This is beautiful! You are so creative. 🙂

    1. Thank you very much, Nadine! I love your kindness and the position you take on being nicer when commenting on the Internet in general. I totally agree with you! http://nadineblewett.wordpress.com/2016/04/01/tea-with-nadine-part-3-a-friendlier-internet/ I also consider constructive criticism as a good thing, but not harsh criticism! Have a wonderful day! Mihaela

      1. Thank you so much for your kind words and the support for what I wrote. 🙂 It means a lot because it’s something I feel strongly about. You have a wonderful day too, Mihaela!

  6. Such an interesting take on the challenge. It was fun to see how you created the piece. I’m really intrigued by the beads being added at the end. I hope you explore that again.

    1. Dear Heather, thank you for sharing your impressions with me! I’m a big fan of the Artbeadscene Challenge and it stimulated me to give my best (and this more than once I could say). About the miracle beads, they are acrylic beads with a Lucite core, they glitter and have almost a 3D effect ( http://beaden.ca/product-category/beads/miracle-beads/) and although I like them a lot, they don’t stand a chance in front of an art bead full of feeling and having also the human touch (http://www.humblebeads.com/product/chefs-choice-bonbon-beads). Have a wonderful day! Mihaela

  7. you have a very interesting tutorial…..
    good aftrnoon

    1. Thank you very much for sharing your impressions with me! You are a very romantic poet and your Italian poems (as Italian is already a very romantic language) are very beautiful and impressive! Best wishes! Mihaela

  8. You are so talented and resourceful Mihaela, this is gorgeous!! Your work has such detail, love it!

    1. Dear Deb, thank you so much for your appreciation! I was so happy to read your wonderful comment! I love your work and I am amazed by the color combinations that you use in your paintings. I particularly loved your painting Shakti, which is so full of color and life ( http://debbreton.com/note-to-self/). I also loved your filmed and explained paintings! Thank you for sharing your vision and your techniques with us! My best to you! Mihaela

      1. Thanks Mihaela, I’m glad you could stop by. It’s funny, we are both amazed and united by each others work. Have a great weekend😀

  9. belli i tuoi tutorials. Complimenti!

    1. Molte grazie! Buona giornata! Mihaela

  10. Beautifully done! How amazing!! 🙂

    1. Thank you very much, Amy! Have a wonderful day! Mihaela

  11. Beautiful artwork, Mihaela! I have been wondering what were you busy with 🙂 These flowers are so delicate, and the colors are as beautiful as in the painting that inspired you. Thank you for sharing! Have a wonderful week full of creative spirit!

    1. Thank you, dear Inese! I am so honored to read your wonderful comment! Wishing you a beautiful and creative week as well! My best to you! Mihaela

  12. I really like these. Thank you for sharing how you made them with us.

    1. Thank you so much! I really appreciate your comment! Best wishes! Mihaela

  13. Insanely genius, my friend! It wow my eyes! Keep it up and cheers!!

    1. Thank you very much! I am very grateful for your amazing comment! My best to you! Mihaela

      1. Awww….thank you for being so sweet, my friend! Cheers!

  14. I don’t know much about insanity (maybe that is because I am one 🙂 )
    But I sure know that here I see beauty. And beauty only.
    Now. Or before. 🍸

    1. Thank you for your wonderful comment! Best wishes! Mihaela

  15. This is a river of creativity. Congrats!

    1. Thank you, dear friend! Sometimes I think that I ran out of ideas, but then I try to calm myself down and trust my inner feelings. So I am so glad when I see such wonderful comments that keep me going especially when I start to have doubts. My very best to you! Mihaela

      1. Maybe you can have doubts about yourself, but I have not any about your creativity.
        Mother Nature compensates herself. To a too much rainy, follows a dry weather, or windy days after the wet ones. Be patient and believe in the rythm of your inspiration. It will not disappoint you, it is only compensating. I’m sure. Thanks for your confidences. Good night and good rest.

      2. Thank you for always encouraging me! Have a wonderful day! Mihaela

      3. I’m who must be grateful for your kind words. You’re so special and generous. See you soon. Good evening 🙂

  16. Really beautiful Mihaela and I love your way down to earth teaching with your materials 😀

    1. Thank you, Irene! I do my best to be clear and concise in my tutorials. I am so happy that you like them! Sending you my best thoughts! Mihaela

      1. I admire your creativity so much, Mihaela 😀

      2. Thank you very much, Irene! Have a wonderful day! Mihaela

      3. You too, Mihaela 😀

  17. Really good and too much effort, but all worth it. 🙂

    1. Thank you very much, Gilian. In fact when you are playing with polymer clay, it might seem an effort, but in fact it is not (in my opinion). When you enjoy that feeling of malaxing the clay into your hands and being a child again and seeing the world like a child (meaning full of possibilities and surprises to come), you just feel good. Have a beautiful day!

Leave a Reply

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Hindberry Fruchtwein

Herstellung von Obstwein, Fruchtwein, Obstdessertwein, Fruchtdessertwein, Obstwermut

Whole, Hearty, Happy

Just a mom on a journey to wellness.

Incantation Jewellery Designs

Life as a women addicted to beading and making jewellery

Celestial Priestess's Fourth Density Journal

Metaphyics, Horoscopes, Personal Blog, Modeling & Recommended Products,

Haddon Musings

There are 11,507 stories in Haddonfield; this is one of them.

Be-you-tiful

"Beauty begins the moment you decide to be yourself" | Creative Thinker & Avid Learner | My principal in life is to always be unique & be yourself :)

The Colourful Kind

Live a crazy, messy, beautiful, life. - The Colourful Kind.

The Plein Air Experience

No Camera Needed

Fabulous Fare Sisters

Fabulous Fare Sisters

bloguluicre.wordpress.com/

#te digo una broma

Au fil du temps...

* Beauté et Sagesse * - * Clin d’œil et Coup de cœur *

DIY EMPRESS

Get Excited And Make Things.....❤

Jill's Art Journal

Creating Art With Joy

mayafeaturingme

You're so beautiful it hurts

Urban Poetry

a digital art and poetry wordpress blog. original poems copyright by linda j. wolff

Books, Music, Photography, & Movies

My views on the above and some...

Beads, Charms, Wire...

... and all things ornamental

Robbie's inspiration

Ideas on writing and baking

Musings by an ND Domer's Mom

Life's too short not to be Irish!

Muddling Through My Middle Age

Adventures in Aging.....

The Rhythm Of Heels

Everyday fashion & beauty inspiration

Colors of my life

Some random thoughts I observe or have!

Books through my veins

I am just a girl who finds joy and happiness in books

a brash attitude

Be brash. Be bold. Be confident.

The Showers of Blessing

Giving and Receiving Blessings

CLOTHES TO YOUUU

LA-Based Personal Style Blog & Visual Diary by Elizabeth T.

Vicky's Scrapbook

A DIY and Personal Style Blog

Estonian Cuisine. Eesti Toit.

Estonian Food and Cuisine. Easy and Delicious .

Oglindă către prezent

M-am mutat pe adrianasandru.ro! :)

Contemporary jewellery in China

/////// What's new ?///////

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Jessica Bakkers

Creative & Freelance Writer

Temple Fitness

" Your body is your temple"

Health & Beauty

Inspiring Healthy Living

social underground

The Human Condition.

Polina Enver

Познавательный блог

Campus Lady

A Sleeper Awakens

